Opinionated

I’m opinionated. I believe things. Passionatelie. I am willing to argue about almost anything and occasioniallie about everything.  But at this point in my life I’ve been trying to back away from that.

You can’t talk about anything in America today without getting political, so I’m not going to give you some ridiculous disclaimer that I don’t mean to get political. I mean to get political.

Beliefs that are important to me.

People are basicallie good and deserve a basic level of trust.
All people deserve to have decent lives.
A government’s job is to care for people.

So let’s hit some big ones.

The three biggest things that the US spends money on are:

Social Security
Medicare
The military

Social Security has been around forever and it’s clearly a good program. It takes my money and invests it so that when i retire I have money to live on. (or if I become disabled I have money to live on) At least that’s the theory,  but let’s be real for a minute. There were people who were 50 when social security was instituted. Those people paid their taxes and at 65 (if they lived that long) got their benefit. The same benefit that people who worked longer might have expected to get. This wasn’t a problem in 1935.

Life expectancy was 61, retirement age was 65. Most people died at their desks, as they say. Today life expectancy is a bit higher, but retirement age is prettie much the same. And we’re not even talking about the Baby Boomers. So someday, and someday soon, Social Security will probablie fail. But it’s still a good program. No one wants to be that old person eating cat food because they can’t afford anything else.

Medicare then? Same deal. It’s socialized healthcare for old people. Surprising since they are largely the demographic that says that socialized healthcare is wrong. Regardless, I think it’s important that people get the health care they need.

This leaves the military. We spend WAY less on the military than we do on Social Security and Medicare. Those two alone take up almost 2/3 of the federal budget. But we still spend A LOT on our military and consequently it’s the most powerful in the world. And I get that it’s important to have a military. I’ve seen Starship Troopers…

‘”My mother says violence doesn’t solve anything”
“So,” Mr. Dubois looked at her bleakly.
“I’m sure the city fathers of Carthage would be glad to know that.”

BUT. Do we need to bomb foreign countries more than we need for citizens to live happy healthy lives?

I know it’s like public health… it’s hard to prove lives not lost. But it makes sense to me that yearly physicals and dental exams for everyone should be more important than say bombing Syria to prove that yes Daddie IS angrie and you’d better take notice. And I’m not here to say that Social Security is good and that the military is bad, because that’s a false Dichotomy.

There are good and bad points about both of them. But we argue about foreign aid all the time. Foreign aid makes up less than 1% of the US budget and those three items alone make up over 3/4 of our entire budget. So maybe… maybe… however big and uncomfortable the conversation is, we should talk about them. Instead of how many american made products we send to a foreign country in the name of “aid”.

Opinion 1.

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

