Believe Everything

Many years ago, in 2011, I wrote about how American Gods was being made into an HBO series. I don’t know if that really happened.  I suspect not. Because in 6 days it will be a series on Stars.

I finished rereading the book yesterday.

It was definitelie better for a reread. You get a better sense of character’s personalities and relationships the second (or fifth) time through.

I’m not going to talk a lot about the book, because if you’ve heard of it, I hope to gods you’ve read it. If you haven’t, well, now you have. Go read it.

I always hate summarizing books I love. Because maybe you’ll love it for a different reason, or maybe you won’t love it at all. But generally because while I hate books for reasons I can always spell out… at length. Books I love just have a feeling.

American Gods gives me that feeling in a lot of places. Shadow’s complicated relationship with his wife. His relationship with Wednesday. The relationships of the gods to each other and who they really are.

Anyway. This book gives me that feeling that tells me that this is a good book. It makes me think about the world, and about my place in it and what it means to be alive. And what it means to be dead.

It is a good book.

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

