Adulting

I turned 32 last week. I don’t feel any older, but I do feel like, somehow, once you’re 32 you can’t say you’re not an adult any more. It’s suddenly unreasonable to say you still feel like a kid. Maybe that’s just me, but it’s my blog, so shut up.

So I’ve been adulting better. I downloaded a to do app. I’ve gotten serious about my budget. I wrote out a list of things I want to be. I made them S.M.A.R.T. goals (Specific, Measurable, Acheivable, Rewarding, Timed). I brush my teeth twice a day. I moisturize like a fiend.

And I’m doing these things. And I am thinking about the thing I’ve been wondering since I was 16… “When will I feel like an adult?”

It seems like never. I’ve talked to people in their 70s who still don’t feel like adults. I used to really feel like adulthood would come to me one day. Maybe I wouldn’t just wake up and KNOW I was an adult, but like you know you’re in love. It would occur to me one day, like a really good idea.

I would have my shit together. I would floss. TWICE A DAY. I would have a savings account and a proper retirement account. I would send birthday cards for every birthday ever. I would celebrate all the holidays and take my Christmas lights down before January ends. These are the things that adults do.

I do maybe one of these.

So how come I’m an adult now and I wasn’t last year? I’m not. But I’m really trying. I’m trying to be responsible. I’m trying to do all those little things that add up to adulthood. But I’m still not feeling it. So what is it? What is one thing that really makes you an adult?

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

