Just Pretending

This is a vlog by John Green, manager of the AFC Wimbly Womblys. Also author of bestseller, The Fault in Our Stars, and renowned vlogger of the YouTube Channel VlogBrothers.

In it he talks about having it together. How people think he has it together and how he thought Kurt Vonnegut had it together.

I used to think it was possible to have it together. I used to think we would wake up one day and be responsible.  That being a grown up was something you wouldn’t have to work at.  Man, was I wrong…

So i know some people who I think have it together… and I also know that if i said that they’d protest.  That they’d say they didn’t, and don’t they know best? And worse, I know people who think I have it together.

With my failures in cat litter and dinner making and laundry folding.  They think I’m doing ok.  I show up in clean clothes that are fairly presentable and I mimic the motions of a socially well adjusted human.  I pretend that I’m just like you.

So the truth of having it together is that we’re all just pretending.  We fake responsibility as best we can and we hope it’s enough. And maybe it is, since every single person you meet is also jsut pretending.

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

