Etre…

Like Shakespeare’s famous protagonist I think a lot about being… unlike him it’s not because I’m suicidal.  “etre” is the unconjugated form of the french verb “to be”  And I think about it a lot.  I once wrote that maybe it was the first dimension. 

If the second dimension is a line and the third is depth and the fourth is time then isn’t the first just being.
Just Being. 

Being like they mean in Buddism, or like they mean in Science.  Being present AND existing.  At least one of them is impossible without the other and I believe they both are. 

“Can’t believe how strange it is to be anything at all…” ~Neutral Milk Hotel

I’ve only recentlie discovered that this is a real band (Thank you, John Green), and I’ve never heard them sing the lyric, but it is strange to be.  And to be this.  How strange…

One of my favorite books, and certainlie my favorite non fiction book, “A Short History of Nearly Everything”  by Bill Bryson, begins by talking about EXACTLIE how strange it is to BE… and to be you… you here and now.

And being.  We don’t think about the physical existence part.  We were born and we accept that our atoms for whatever reason DO want to BE.  And to BE US.  Be you. Be me.

It’s not even crazie that we’re here at all.  Unless we think about it.  Unless we contemplate the incongruitie…

In a universe where we’ve yet to find life forms similar to ours, we exist.  We exist on a planet with air and water and food, all purpose built… for us. 

And I geuss if you believe in god you can just point and say… “God.” 

And the magic is over.  The wonder is gone.  Even using a word you don’t understand takes away the awe.  You ARE here.  YOU are here.  You are HERE.

being.

And isn’t that a strange thing.  Even with a god of some sort isn’t it amazing that we exist at all.  And that we exist with a consciousness to recognize the existence.

But what are we?  I’m a girl.  And I’m angrie alot, but that’s not all I am.  I’m a nurse, but not only.  And I change.  Don’t we all.

Aren’t we always being something else.  Maybe the question ought not to be, “How are you?”, but “What are you?” 

Today I am an introspective twenty something girl who has good friends and a great boyfriend and a love of the internet.  But who knows about tomoro…

“Be who you’ve always been… just be this as well.” ~ Dogma.

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

