All The Things

Sometimes there’s not words for all the things you want to say.  Sometimes you mean things that are too big or too personal or too strange or confusing to say out loud. 

So I say Mook.  It doesn’t really mean anything and it means everything.  It means what I am thinking right now. 

I’ve been thinking a lot about how we talk to people and about how people hear us.

I love the Anias Nin quote, “We don’t see things as they are.  We see them as we are.”
  And I get that.  I look at things with my understanding and have trouble understanding when things are different than I know them to be.

And now I use a word that not only do other people not understand, but I don’t really understand.  There should be a word for those feelings and topics that just defy symbolism.

John Green talks about how all words are symbols and how a symbol can mean different things to different people.  He talks about how we try to simplifie people and catagorize them.  How we fail to “imagine people complexlie” 

And I can see myself guiltie of that.  Of not imagining you complexlie.  Of trying to turn you into something I can understand.  And I can see how it’s wrong to simplifie a person.  I can see how it makes things that are so critical less important than they ought to be. 

At the same time it’s hard to see all the things all the time.  People even simplifie themselves to fit inside the little mirror of their understanding.  I geuss mostlie I don’t worrie about understanding all the things, or knowing all the things that a person can be or is.  I geuss if you like someone, maybe you insticntivelie know enough of the things.

Or maybe all the things don’t matter.

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

