We’re going to the park! Bitch!

So today in leadership we learned about communication.  About using “I” statements and being assertive.  For instance, when a nurse comes into your room she might say, “Can I take your blood pressure now, Mr. such and so?”, but what she means is, “I’m taking your blood pressure now.”  And we were told not to give the patient a choice.  It’s like a three year old.

“Let’s go to the park.  Ok, Jhonnie?”  And Jhonnie is gonna say, “NO!”  cause he can, cause you gave him the option.  What you’re supposed to do is say “We’re going to the park,” or “I”m going to take your blood pressure now.”

But anyways  I laughed so hard when she said it that even though, all the humor is lost on you, I STILL had to repeat it.

Reallie what I wanted to talk about was the work ethic.  The moral correctness of having a job… because that’s what work ethic means.  It means if you’re not working then you’re doing something wrong.

I should start out by saying that I am not often noted for my outstanding desire to work.  Still, people who know me will say that when I am working I’m working hard.  So what am I doing wrong that I’m not always working, and even worse that most of the time I don’t want to work?

I have a book called, “Doing Nothing: A history of loafers, loungers, slackers, and bums in America”  It’s a good book.  It talks about the historical foundations of slacking, and the founders and defenders of bum hood.  It talks about why even though your mother can love the movie Ferris Beuller’s Day Off, she can still be upset that you don’t have a job.

And I think the thing that struck me most is it talks about WHY people work.  Why is my favorite question.  Why are things like they are?  Why does that do that?  But basically it boils down to is people work because they want to.

This seems sillie at first, but think.  Think about that time around 3 pm during summer vacation.  You slept in and you finally got up and showered and ate something.  You made plans for later that evening and you’re now sitting in front of the television, watching infomercials or a personal injury lawyer hamming it up for the cameras… now imagine that happening every day for the rest of your life.

Now you could get hobbies, or friends who don’t work, or who work nights… but eventually you’re going to run out of money.  So that’s two reasons people want to work.

1. It’s something to do
2. It earns you money

Now this one has always confounded me.  I learned from my mother that you need a job in order to earn money to do the things you want to do.  For me this consists of buying the ingredients for the hobbies I always plan to take up.  Flour and Sugar, a new tent, a sleeping bag, fabric and thread, yeast and barley, a strap for my yoga mat, maybe a new video game someday, or wave runners.  So a job exists so you have money to have fun with in your spare time.  This makes a job a war between the spare time you want to have to do things in, and the job you need to pay for the things to do in the spare time that you don’t have because you’re working.

3.  You get paid to do something you love.
But there are some people, luckie people, who have a job that IS what they want to do in their spare time.  And I think that a combination of all three of those is something to strive for.

A job you love doing, but don’t have to do all the time, to pay for the other things you love doing in the time you’re not working.

You need the perfect balance between the drive to work that my mother has and that love of fun that I have.  And this isn’t to say that I don’t have a drive to work or that she doesn’t love to have fun, but on a scale we’re probablie fairlie close to the extremes of the spectrum.

Jobs I love are ones where I feel like I’m accomplishing something, or I feel useful or that clearly need to be done.  For instance… I don’t mind doing the dishes, because when you wash a dish, you have a clean dish.  I’m not saying that I enjoy washing the dishes, I don’t, I avoid it, but when it needs to be done I do it because then I have clean dishes, and when I”m done, I feel like I’ve done a good thing.  And I guess that’s the thing that makes a work ethic.

It’s that little part of you that after you’ve done a job, even if you’re dirtie and tired and maybe didn’t enjoy all of it, can still look around and say, “I did this.  Isn’t is good?  Yes, Yes it is.”

On that note, cause I bet you read these, Ladie, I’m goin’ to work tomoro!

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re going to the park! Bitch!

  1. Extenze says:

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so! really nice post.

Leave a Reply

