The thing is…

It’s a phrase I use too much.  The thing is though, is that it’s useful.  It serves a purpose, it does a job.  I could say it better, or more eloquently, but I don’t because that’s not who I am.  I’ll never use twelve words when I could say it in three. 

I could say my life is hard.  The thing is I don’t know that it is.  I’ve been getting my shit together.  I might never really have it all together, but who needs that?  I work hard to do the things that others do naturally, but the thing is it doesn’t feel like work.  I’m studying hard and I think I’m doing good, although only time will tell.  I’ve got a job for now and what will probably turn into really good friends.  I brush my teeth twice a day and I floss and use mouth wash.  I shower every morning when I wake up at seven and take a vitamin before I go to sleep each night at midnight.  I feel ok.  I’m content. 

It’s a sentiment I’ve never been fond of, but I can see how it’s true.  There are things in my life that I might change if I could, but I can’t so I don’t think about them, except for when it can’t be avoided.  I don’t know, it feels good.  I’m taking control of my life.  There are bits I need to work on, but I have a plan for my future.  I know what I want and I’m going after it.  And maybe I could do it differently, but then I wouldn’t be me.  I’d be someone who did it differently.

At the end of this year half the people in my class will have failed out or dropped out or decellerated.  It’s scarie to think about.  It’s scarie to think about all the things that could go wrong, or have gone wrong, but I’m tired of pretending that I don’t care about things.  It’s hard work.  So I’m going to try really hard to get the things that I want.

 "Dare to Care"

it’s an odd phrase, but acurate.  If you care you might get hurt, you might get let down, or told off, but if you don’t then what the hell is the point?

Today’s Fortune

Life to you is a dashing and bold adventure.

 

About SleepieBear

Opinions are my own. Facts are poorly checked. (Unless cited.) Use your brains.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

